The North Carolina Stroke Association SHAPE Award

Stroke Heroes Advocating Prevention and Education

In 2011, the North Carolina Stroke Association established the SHAPE award to honor health care providers and other advocates who have demonstrated extraordinary commitment and passion for stroke prevention and education in North Carolina.

SHAPE Award Honorees

  • 2011 – Dr. David Schmidt
  • 2012 – Marie Welch
  • 2013 – Robin Jones
  • 2014 – Janet Greiwe (honored posthumously)
  • 2015 – Dr. David Y. Huang
  • 2016 – Betsy Vetter

If your hospital or organization would like to recommend an individual to receive the North Carolina Stroke Association SHAPE Award, please contact Beth Parks, NCSA Executive Director at

2016 SHAPE Award Honoree

Betsy Vetter, regional vice president of government relations for the American Heart Association Mid-Atlantic Affiliate

“Eighty percent of strokes are preventable with important lifestyle changes including smoking cessation, weight management, hypertension control and physical fitness,” said Beth Parks, executive director of the NC Stroke Association. “Betsy’s leadership on statewide coalitions and public health organizations is critical to reducing the incidence and impact of stroke.”


If you or a loved one are experiencing Stroke symptoms, call 911 and get to the hospital IMMEDIATELY! Treatments are available that may dramatically reduce a Stroke’s devastating effects—but they must be provided within a few hours of the onset of a Stroke.